County tax passed on non-medical marijuana

MISSOULA COUNTY – Missoula County was among three counties statewide where voters passed an additional county-wide tax on recreational marijuana. The initiative to impose a three percent tax passed with a sweeping 78%. However, nearly 52% of voters rejected the tax proposed for medical marijuana. These numbers were the final election night report and are unofficial until canvass.

In the 2020 general election, the majority of Montana voters approved Initiative 190 legalizing the sale and tax of marijuana. In the 2021 Montana legislative session, House Bill 701 allowed for the operation of vario...


Reader Comments(0)