Seeley Swan Pathfinder -

Rocky Mountain Adventure Gear - For all Your Motorized and Non-Motorized Adventures!

By Andi Bourne

Most Board Positions Filled by Acclamation


The Seeley Lake Rural Fire District and Swan Valley Community Council are the only local boards required to hold a special district elections this May for their open positions. The rest of the local board positions were either filled by acclimation or remain open.

Current Seeley Lake Rural Fire District board chair Bonnie Connell and Vice Chair Scott Kennedy’s positions expire in May. Scott Kennedy will run against Alyssa McLean and Rita Rossi for the two, three-year terms.

Marcia Tapp’s term with the Swan Valley Community Council ends this May. Chantel Thornsberry, Nathan Richardson and Diann Ericson all put in for the three-year term.

Sally Johnson and Kris Martin will replace Carrie Sokoloski and Ken Barber on the Seeley Lake Community Council filling the two, three-year terms.

Incumbents Mary Ann Morin and John Addis will remain on the Seeley Lake-Swan Valley Public Hospital District since they were the only two that applied.

James Boyd will fill the one, three-year position on the Swan Valley Fire District Board since he applied unopposed.

Gary Burnett will fill one of the two open seats with the Greenough/Potomac Fire District.

Because House Bill 84 (HB84) passed in the 2015 Legislative Session, Seeley Lake Sewer District and Seeley Lake Water District board terms were extended until May of 2018. HB84 changed special district elections to May instead of being held in November. While positions on both boards would have been up for reelection in November of 2017, the terms were extended six months instead of being cut short.

The Pathfinder will provide a local election guide to the candidates for the Seeley Lake Rural Fire District Board and Swan Valley Community Council prior to the May 2 vote.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2017

Rendered 04/18/2018 04:36